I’ll Be With You When The Roses Bloom Again

They are roaming in the gloaming where the roses are in bloom
Just a soldier and his sweetheart staunch and true
But her heart is filled with sorrow and her throughts are of the morrow
As she pins a rose upon his coat of blue
Do not ask me love to linger for you know not what to say
When my duty calls my sweetheart’s voice is cain
But your heart need not be sighing if [I] am not among the dying
I’ll be with you when the roses bloom again

When the roses bloom again beside the river
And the robin red-breast sings his sweet refrain
As in days of Auld Lang Syne I’ll be with you sweetheart mine
I’ll be with you when the roses bloom again.

Mid the rattle of the battle comes a whisper soft and low
For a soldier [hop] has fallen in the fray
I am dying captian dying and I know Ive got to go
But I want your promise ere I pass away
There’s a far and distant river where teh roses bloom so fair
There’s a maiden who is waiting all in vain
It is there I’d have you take me Ive been faithful dont forsake me
I must be there when the roses bloom again

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

