The Convict And The Rose

Within my prison all so dreary
Alone I sit with weary heart
Im thinking of my lonely darling
From her forever I must part

The rose she sent me as a token
She sent it just to light my gloom
To tell me that her heart is broken
To cheer me before I meet my doom

She wrote I took it from the garden
Where once we wondered side by side
But now you hold no hope of pardon
And I can never be your bride

The judge would not believe my story
The jury said I had to pay
But to the rose in all its glory
Not guilty is all that I can say

Good-bye sweetheart for in the morning
I’ll meet my maker and repose
And when I go at daylights dawning
Against my heart they’ll find your rose

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

