The Tenderfoot

Thought one spring that just for fun, Id see how cowpunching was done
And when the round up had begun I tackled a cattle king
Says he my foreman is in town
Hes at the Plaza his name is Brown
If you see him he will take you down
Says I thats just the thing

We started for the ranch next day
Brown sugared me most all the way
He said that punching was only play
That it was no work at all
That all you had to do was ride
Twas only drifting with the tide
The son-of-a-fun oh how he lied
He certainly had his gall

He put me in charge of a cowyard
And told me not to work to hard
That all I had to do was guard
The horses from getting away
I had one-hundred and sixty head
I sometimes wished that I was dead
When one got away Browns head turned red
And there was the devil to pay

Sometimes one would make a break
Across the prarie he would take
As if running for a stake
It seemed to them but play
Sometimes I couldn’t heard them at all
Sometimes my horse would catch and fall
And Id shoot on like a cannon ball
Till the earth came in my way

They saddled me up on an old grey back
With two set fasts on his back
They padded him down with a gunny sack
And used my bedding all
When I got on he left the ground
went up in the air and turned around
And I came down on busted the ground
I got an awful fall

They picked me up and carried me in
And rubbed me down with an old stick pin
Thats the way they all begin
Your doing well says Brown
And in the morning if you don’t die
I’ll give you another horse to try
Oh say can’t I walk says I
Says he yes back to town

I have travelled up and I have travelled down
I’ve travelled this country round and round
Ive lived in the city and Ive lived in town
And I’ve got this much to say
before you try cowpunching kiss your wife
Take a heavy insurance on your life
Then cut your throat with a carving knife
for it easier done that way

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

