McCarthy’s Wedding

It’s just a year ago today I took to me a wife
And ever since shes proved to be the burden of my life
She’s the widow of McCarthy and McCarthy was her name
And changing it to Flannigan of course shes not to blame
She speaks about McCarthy and his worships everyday
And wished that I would sober up and be like him everyway
She beats me with the broomstick whenever the baby cries
And makes me rock the cradle from crown until I die

She licks me, she kicks me, she never lets me be
She lashed me and she thrashed me until I couldn’t see
She is the second party, she is my dearest hearty
She might have licked McCarthy but she can’t lick me

When I got home tonight no boys there’s going to be a row
Im going to see McCarthy as me me which is the best man now
And if she doen’t behave herself and learn to shut her mouth
And if she puts me into jail be [lads] she’ll take me out

We’re going down to old Blyth town on purpose to get tight
You’ll bet your life when I get home there’s going to be a fight
I’ll break up all the furniture before I do get through
I’ll smash up the kitchen stove the next thing I will do
Oh She is my second party and she is my dearest hearty
she might have licked McCarthy but she can’t lick me

F.M.M.

1 comment so far

  1. Robert Bennett on

    Me mither used to sing this(little different words some of which I’ve forgotten);she had learned it from uncle George Bennett(no relation!)


Leave a Reply

