Answer to Twenty-One Years

She wrote him this letter all covered with tears
And it is her answer to Twenty One Years

Six months have gone by love the good doctor said
For six weary months Ive been sick in bed
My poor heart it is in agony
The drug store has nothing can help what ails me

They tell me your bitter cause I didnt write
But my brain is all fevered and dark is the night
So you’ll understand why I didn’t write you
The Master in Heaven knew what Ive been through

The judge said stand up said dry up your tears
And sent you to Nashville for twenty One years
As we stood embracing they tore us apart
But they’ll never tear you from out of my heart

They shackled your arms love they shackled your feet
But they never can shackle a love that is sweet
The angels all know love that you’ll always be mine
And I’ll still be waiting though its a long time

I went to the Governor got down on my knees
And said Mr Governor won’t you listen please
I begged for a pardon through heart blinding tears
And all I remember was twenty one years

They sent you to prison behind those iron bars
When I get my strength back I’ll come where you are
I’ll stand by those high walls and shout through my tears
That I will want for you dear for twenty one years

So this is her letter all covered with tears
And it is her answer to twenty one years

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

