The Little Mohee

As I was a walking

For pleasure one day
I craved recreation
As the day passed away
I sat me down musing
Alone on the grass
When who should come by me
But a young Indian lass

She came and sat by me
And taking my hand
Said “You look like a stranger
Not one of our hand
But if you will rise sir
And wander with me
I’ll teach you the language
Of the little Mohee

Says I No fair maidens
That never can be
For I have a sweetheart
In my own countree
And I’ll not forsake her
For I know she loves me
And is just as faithful
As the little Mohee

She said when you return sir
To the land that you know
Remember the land
where the coconuts grow
And the last time I saw her
She was out on the sand
As my ship sailed out past her
She waved me her hand
And Now I am landed
On my own native shore
With friend and relations
All around me once more
but of all who surround me
Theres none I can see
Who really compares
With my little Mohee

And the girl I had trusted
Proved untrue to me
so I said I’ll turn backward
Across teh blue sea
I’ll set my course outward
And away I will flee
Spend the rest of my days
With my little Mohee

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

