When The Roses Bloom For the Bootlegger

I was going down the river to my little cottage home
The revenue men were waiting there for me
I was comin up the hill when they caught me with the still
I’ll be with you when the roses bloom again

When the roses bloom again beside the river
And the robin red breast sings his melody
With the revenue [ment act] west I’ll have a little rest
I’ll be with you when the roses bloom again

When the roses bloom again beside the river
And the revenue men have all gone to rest
For my heart will fill with cheer for I know I’ll get the beer
I’ll be with you when the roses bloom again

They took me to the jailhouse to serve my ninety days
And now Im on a County road to stay
I was feeling very friskey but they caught me with the whiskey
I’ll be with you when the roses bloom again

When the roses bloom again beside the river
And the robin red breast sings his melody
As they caught me with the wine I’ll be with you pal of mine
I’ll be with you when the roses bloom again

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

