A Gangster’s Warning

I was brought up by kind parents
I once was their pride and joy
I got to drinking and gambling
Wild life got the best of their boy
Some pals took me out on a robbery
I thought just for once would be fun
But one crime led to another
Till it led to the use of a gun

In my pocket I carry a pistol
Its never away from my side
The notches thats carved in the handle
Tell how more than one man has died
Im leading a trail that is crooked
My foul lay around every den
I no that some day this will get me
I dread to think of the end

It seems there’s no hope for a gangster
Not a moment of peace to be found
Wherever I go I am hunted
LIke a fox that is chased by a hound
Its true I would like to be honest
But I know its too late to begin
For when you join with a ganster
Its a game that is played to the end

I wish I had listened to mother
She said there would be days like this
I lost all my true friends and sweethearts
No more shall I know their sweet bliss
So young men keep way from that company
Thats how I troded in wrong
And don’t let your pals try to kid your
Remember the words of this song.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

