Love Me Now

If you are ever going to Love me
Love me now that I may know
All the sweet and tender feelings
That from real affection flow
Love me now when I am living
Do not wait till I am gone
And then chisel it in marble
Warm love words on ice cold stone

If you wait till I am sleeping
Never to waken here again
There’ll be walls of earth between us
And I couldn’t hear you then
If you knew someone was thirsting
For a drink of water sweet
Would you be so slow to bring it
Would you tread with leggard feet

There are many all around us
Who are thirsting for our love
Would we grudge to them what Heaven
Kindly sends us from above
I won’t need your kind caresses
When the grass grows o’er my face
I won’t need your love nor kisses
In my las low resting place

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

