Stern Old Bachelor

I am a stern old bachelor
My age is forty-four
I do declare I’ll never live
With women any more

Little sod shanty
Sod shanty give to me
For Im a stern old bachelor
From matrimony free

I have a stove that’s worth ten cents
a table worth fifteen
I cook my grub in oyster cans
and keep all things so clean

When I come home late I have no fear
I smile and walk right in
I never hear a voice yell out
I say where have you been

On winters cold and story night
In my cosy little shack
I sing my song and smoke my pipe
With no one to talk back

And when I go to bed alone
My snores cause no alarm
I never have to walk aboard
With an infant on each arm

I go to bed when’er I please
I get up just the same
I change my socks three times a year
With no one to complain

And when I die and go to heaven
Which all old bachelors do
I’ll never have to grivince for fear
The wife don’t get there too

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

