The Butcher’s Boy

In London City where I did dwell
A butcher’s boy I loved so well
He courted me my life away
And with me then he would not stay

I went up stairs to go to bed
And nothing to my mother said
But mother said your acting queer
What is the trouble my daughter dear

Oh mother dear you need not know
The pain and sorrow grief and woe
Give me a chair and set me down
With pen and ink to write words down

Oh dig my grave both wide and deep
And place a marble at my feet
Upon my breast a snow white dove
To show the world that I died for love

And when her father first came home
Where is my girl where has she gone
He went upstairs the door he broke
And found her hanging to a rope

He took his knife and cut her down
And in her bosom these words he found
A silly girl am I you know
To hang myself for the butchers boy

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

