The Lane County Bachelor

My name is Frank Bale an old bachelor I am
I’m keeping old batch on an elegant plan
You’ll find me out West in the county of Lane
Starving to death on a Government claim

My house it is build of the national sail
The walls are erected according to Hayle
The roof has no leak but is level and plain
And I always get wet when it happens to rain

But Hurrah! for Lane County teh land of the free
Home of the grasshopper bed bug and flee
I’ll sing loud her praises and boast of her fame
While starving to death on a Government claim

How happy am I when I crawl into bed
And a rattlesnake rattles his tail at my head
And the gay little centipide foil of all fear
Crawls over my pillow and into my ear

And the nice little building so cheerful and bright
Keeps me up scratching full half of the night
And the gay little flee with toes sharp as a tack
Plays why don’t you catch me all over my back

But Hurrah for Lane County the land of the West
Where the farmers and ranchers are always at rest
Where youve nothing to do but sweetly remain
And starve like a man on your government claim

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

