When The Works All Done This Fall

A group of jolly cowboys discusing plans at ease
Says one I’ll tell you something boys if you will listen please
I am an old cow puncher and tho here Im dressed in rags
I used to be a tough one and take on great big jogs
But Ive got a home boys a good one you all know
Although I haven’t seen it since very long ago
But Im going back to [Dixie] once more to see them all
I’m going to see my mother when the works all done this fall

After the round ups over after the shippings done
Im going straight home boys ere all my moneys gone
Ive changed my ways boys no more will I fall
And Im going home to mother when the works all done this fall
When I left my home boys my mother for me cried
She begged me not to go boys for me she would have died
Mothers heart is breaking its breaking for me thats all
So Im going to see my mother when the works all done this fall

That very night this cowboy went out to stand his guard
The weather it was strong and raining very hard
The cattle they got frightened and rushed a wild stampede
The cowboy tried to herd them while riding at full speed
While riding in the darkness so loudly he did shout
The saddle horse did stumble and on him did fall
And he’ll not see his mother when the works done this fall

His body was so mangled
The boys all through him dead
They picked him up so gently and laid him on his bed
He opened wide his blue eyes and looking all around
He motioned to his comrads to sit near him on the ground
Boys send my mother my wages the wages I have earned
For Im afraid boys my last star that I have turned
Im going to a new range I hear my masters call
And I’ll not see my mother when the works all done this fall

Joe take my saddle Bill you take my bed
Pete you take my pistol after I am dead
Think of them kindly as you gaze up on them all
And give my love to mother when the works all done next fall
Poor Charlie was burried at sunrise no toombstone at his head
Nothing but a little board and this is what it said
Poor Charlie died at daybreak he died from a fall
And he’ll not see his mother when the works all done this fall

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

