Give My Love to Nellie Jack

Three years ago since Jack and Joe
Set sail across the foam
Each vowed his fortune he would make
Before returning home
In one short year Jack gained his wealth
And home he did set sail
And just before they shook hands to part
Poor Joe could only say

Give my love to Nellie Jack
And kiss her once for me
The sweetest girl in all this world
Im sure you’ll say is she
Treat her kindly Jack old pal
And tell her I am well
His parting words were don’t forget
To give my love to Nell

Two years have past and Joe at last
had gained enough for life
And he set sail across the sea
To make sweet Nell his wife
but when he reached his nature shore
A friend to
When on his way he heard them say
That Jack and Nell were wed
He now regrets between sales and [frets]
That he had ever said

When on the street they chanced to meet
Said Joe you selfish elf
The next girl that I learn to love
I”ll kiss her for myself
But all is fair in love they say so since you’ve gone and wed
I’ll not be angry Jack old pal
Once again he said

5 comments so far

  1. Dorothy on

    I’m so glad I found the words to this song! My Grandpa sang this song to me as he held me on his lap while driving the tractor. The only words I could remember were “give my love to Nell oh Jack” since I was so little.

    But, now, I have the entire song, and it brings back beautiful, loving memories of my Papaw and his love of life and me.

    Thank you!

    • Jacklin on

      Such a beautiful comment. It’s for those same reasons that I took on this project. I am so glad to be able to share it with others like you.

    • Jennifer hodge on

      this is the way mom sang it to us…i would like to know its origin, yr, etc..tnx,,,3 yrs ago Jack and joe set sail across the foam, each vowed a fortune he would earn before returning home. in just 1 yr jack gained his wealth and sailed for home that day, and as the pals shook hands goodby poor joe could only say,(chorus) give my love to nellie jack and kiss her once for me, the fairest girl in all the world i’m sure you’ll say it is she, treat her kindly jack ole pal and tell her i am well, the parting words were don’t forget to give my love to nell.(verse 1)

  2. Jennifer hodge on

    verse 2> 3 yrs went past when joe at last gained wealth enough for home, he sailed for home across the foam to make sweet nellie his wife, but on his return poor joe did learn that jack and nell had wed, and now he regrets, sobs and sighs that he had ever said;(chorus) verse 3> they chanced to meet upon the street, said joe ,you selfish elf, if i learn to love another girl, i’ll kiss her for myself. but all is fair in love and war, and since you’ve gone and wed, i’ll not be angry with you jack so once again he said(chorus)

  3. Richard Gainer on

    I would love to know the songwriter and the date of the song! Any ideas?
    Richard


Leave a Reply

