If Brother Jack Were Here

Two drummers they were seated
in a grand hotel one day
While dining they were chatting
In a joker sort of way

There came a pretty waitress
Who brought a tray of food
They spoke to her familiarly
In a manner rather rude

At first she did not notice
Nor make the least reply
But one remark was made to her
Brought teardrops to her eyes

She turned on her tormentors
Her cheeks were blushing red
Approaching as a picture
This is what she said

My mother was a lady
And yours you will allow
And you may have a sister
Who needs protection now
I came to this great city
To find my brother dear
And you would ne’re insult me sir
If brother Jack were here

The two sat there in silence
Their heads hung down in shame
Forgive us miss we meant no harm
Pray tell us what’s your name

She told them and one cried allowed
I know your brother too
For weve been friends for many years
And he often spoke of you

Pray come iwth me when I go back
And if you’ll only wed
I’ll take you to him as my bride
For I love you since you said

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

