Lay My Head Beneath A Rose

Darling press me to your bosom
As you did in days of yore
Press your lips upon my forehead
Ere I reach that golden shore
Life is from me quickly fading
Soon I’ll be in sweet repose
When Im gone I ask this favor
Lay my head beneath a rose

Lay me where sweet flowers blossom
Where the dainty lilies grows
Where the pink and violet mingle
Lay my head beneath the rose

Darling first you said you loved me
When you gave your hand and heart
There were roses on your cheeks love
And we vowed we ne’er would part
One more kiss for I am going
Far byond all earthly woes
Let my grave be like your cheeks love
Covered with a red red rose

He has crossed the shadowed valley
Where the living water flows
Love has heard his last found pleadings
And he sleeps in sweet repose
Neath a grassy mound hes resting
Where the golden sunset glows
Love has answered all his pleadings
And he sleeps beneath a rose

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

