Return of the Red River Valley

picture-071To this valley they say your returnting
We shall greet your bright eyes and sweet smile
For your bringing us back all the sunshine
That will brighten our lives for awhile

Then come sit by my side if you love me
Never more will you bid me adiu
Never more are you leaving this valley
And the cowboy that loved you so true

For a long time my darling Ive waited
For teh courage my love for to tell
Oh the joy and the thrill that it gave me
When I learned that you loved me so well

Will you share with me all of my sorrow
Will you share in my joy and my pain
Will you share in the clouds and the sunshine
And I’ll love you again and again

Then I will promise you darling
Forever to be faithful and true
And my live it will be yours forever
For I have no one darling but you

Let the past with its sorrows be vanquished
By a future of joy and peace
As you rest in the arms of your cowboy
Where devotion will never more cease

Never yet has there been such a longing
In the heart of this poor cowboys breast
As I sit all alone in my cabin
And I think of the girl I love best

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

