The Drunkards Dream **

** some quick research reveals this song is correctly titled ‘The Husband’s Dream”

Why Dermont you look healthy now
Your dress is neat and clearn
I never see you drunk about
Pray tell me where youve been
Your wife and family all are well
You used to treat them strange
But you are kinder to them now
How come this happy change

It was a dream a warning dream
Which heaven sent to me
To snatch me from the drunkards curse
Grief want and misery
I dreamed one night I staggered home
It seemed a silent gloom
I missed my wife where could she be
And strangers in my room

I saw my children weeping round
I scarecely drew my breath
They hugged and kissed her lifeless form
Forever cold in death
Oh father came and wake her up
The people say shes dead
Just make her speak and smile once more
We’ll never cry for bread

I heard them say poor thing shes dead
She led a wretched life
Greif want and pain have broken her heart
Who’d be a drunkard’s wife
I rose and staggared to my feet
And rushed to where she lay
And boldly kissed her once warm lips
Forever cold as clay

Dear Mary speak tis Dermons Call
Why so I do she cried
I awoke and true my Mary dear was kneeling by my side
I pressed her to my throbing (heart)
While joyous tears did stream
And ever since Ive heaven blessed
For sending me that dream

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

