The Dying Nun

Let the air blow in upon me
Let me see the midnight sky
Stand back sisters from around me
Oh it is so hard to die
Raise the pillow up dear Martha
Sister Martha you are kind
Come and stand just here beside me
Ere I leave you all behind

Hold my hand so cold and frozen
Once it was so softa and white
And the ring that falls down from it
Clasped my fingers round so tight
Little ring they thought so worthless
That they let me keep it there
Only a plain and golden circle
And A braid of Douglas hair

Oh my Father Oh my mother
Will you not forget the past
When you hear some stranger tell you
How your stray lamb died at last
Out of all that used to love me
Who will weep when I am dead
Only you dear sister Marthat
Keep the last watch by my bed

Sister Martha are you near me
You are kinder than the rest
Lift my head and let me lean it
While I live upon your breast
I am Coming Douglas coming
Where you are I’ll soon be there
Free at last I come my dearest
Death gives back your little Claire

Sister Martha Sister Martha
Has the moon gone down so soon
Oh this cell is cold as winter
Tho I know tis only June
Sister in your white bed lying
Sleeping in the June moonlight
Through your dreams there comes no message
Claire dies all alone tonight

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

