The Letter Edged in Black

I was standing by my window yesterday morning
Without a throught of worry or a care
When I saw the postman swinging up the pathway
With such a cherry smile and jaunty air

He rang the bell and whistled while he waited
And then he said good morning to you Jack
But he little knew the sorrow he had brought me
When he handed me a letter edged in black

With a trebling hand I took the letter from him
I broke the seal and this is what it said
Come home my boy your poor old father wants you
Come home my boy your dear old mothers dead

The last words your mother ever spoke were
Tell my boy I want him to come back
My eyes are blurred my poor old heart is breaking
As Im writing you this letter edged in black

Those angry words I wish I had never spoken
You know I did not mean them don’t you Jack
May the Angels carry with them am asking
Your forgiveness in this letter edged in black

I bow my head in silence and in sorrow
The sunshine of my life it all has fled
Since the postman brought that letter yesterday morning
Stayin come home my boy your dear old mothers dead

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

