The Little Old Log Cabin

Im getting old and feeble now I cannot work no more
Ive laid the rusty bladed hoe to rest
Ole massa, and ole miss’s am dead dey’re sleeping side by side
There spirits now are ravin with the blest
De Scene am changed about the place the darkies are all gone
I’ll neber hear dem singing in de cane
And Im de only one dats left with this old dog of mine
And de little old log cabin in de lane

De chimneys fallin down and de roof am cavin in
I ant got long around here to remain
But de angels watches ober me when I lay me down to sleep
In dat little ole log cabin in de lane

It was a happy to me twas many years ago
When de darkies used to gather round de door
When de used to dance and sing at night I played the old banjo
But alas I cannot play it anymore
De hinges dy got rusted and de door has tumbled down
And de roof lets in the sunshine and de rain
And de only friend ive got now is this good old dog of mine
In de little ole log cabin in de lane

De footpath now is covered o’er dat led us round de hill
And de fences are all going to decay
And de creek is all dried up where we used to go to mill
De time has turned its cause de odder way
But I an’t got long to stay here and what little time I got
I’ll try and be contented to remain
Till death shall call my dog and me to find a better home
Than dat little ole log cabin in de lane

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

