The Little Rosewood Casket

In a little rosewood casket
That is resting on a stand
There’s a package of love letters
Written by a cherished hand
Will you please go bring them sister
Read them o’er to me tonight
For Ive often tried but could not
Falling tears would blind my sight

In a little rosewood casket
That is resting on a stand
There’s a package of love letters
Written by my true loves hand

Come up closer to me sister
Let me lean upon your breast
For the tide of life is ebbing
And I fair would be at rest
Bring the letters he has written
He whos voice I’ve often heard
Read them over love distinctly
For I cherish every word

Tell him sister when you see him
That I never ceased to love
That I dying prayed to meet him
In a better world above
Tell him that I was supported
Ne’er a word of censure spoke
But his silence and his absense
This poor heart has well nigh broke

Tell him that I watched his coming
When the noontide sun was high
And at even when the angels set
Their starlights in the sky
But when at last I saw he came not
Tell him that I didn’t chide
But I spoke in love about him
And I blessed him when I died

When at last in deaths white garments
You have wrapped my form around
And you lay me down to slumber
In the quiet church yard ground
Place the letters and the picture
Close beside my pulseless heart
We for years have been together
And in death we will not part

I am ready now dear sister
Read the dear old letters o’er
I will listen as to music
Eve I reach that golden shore
And if ere you have all finished
I should calmly fall asleep
Fall asleep to wake in Heaven
Dearest sister do not weep

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

