The Mystery of Number Five

As I stepped out thhis morning
To answer my drivers roll
To hear my whistle blowing
While the fireman sling the coal

And when I reached the switches
I heard a breakman say
Oh what a Mystery
Your engines cold today

Up stepped a little maiden
With a tear drop in her eye
And she began Oh Mister man
Do you push old Number Five

My Daddy was your fireman
And he often spoke of you
Of being so kind hearted
So honest brave and true

He was found dead this morning
On [trustle] numbe two
While on his way to prepare
The morning train for you

This story is framed in mystery
As by a little maiden told
While for the first time in history
I found my engine cold

Now all you railraod men take warning
And play the game fair
So when our master calls on us
We’ll meet my fireman there

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

