After The Ball

A little maiden climbed an old man’s knee
Begged for a story do [uncle] please
Why are you single why live alone
Have you no babies have you no home
I had a sweetheart years years ago
Where she is now pet you’ll soon know
List to my story I’ll tell it all
I belived her faithless after the ball

After the ball is over, after the break of dawn
After the dancers leaving after the stars are gone
Many the heart is aching if you could count them all
Many the hopes that are vanquished after the ball

Bright lights were flashing in the grand ball room
Softly the music playing sweet tunes
There came my sweetheart my love my own
I wish some water leave me alone
When I returned dear there stood a man
Kissing my sweetheart as lovers can
Down fell the glass pet broken thats all
Just as my heart was after the Ball

Long years have past pert I’ll never wed
True to my last love though she is dead
She tried to tell me tried to explain
But I would not listen pleadings were vain
One day a letter came from that man
He was her brother the letter ran
Thats why Im lonely no home at all
I broke her heart pet after the ball

No comments yet

Leave a comment